Endometrial Cancer - Types and Stages of Endometrial Cancer

What is Endometrial Cancer?

The uterus is a part of the female reproductive system responsible for the growth and development of the fetus. The inner lining of the uterus is the endometrium.

Endometrial cancer, or endometrial carcinoma, occurs when the endometrium cells start to grow and multiply uncontrollably. It is one of the most common cancers affecting the female reproductive system. It is a type of uterine cancer. The other type is uterine sarcoma, which involves the muscles and connective tissues of the uterus.

Unlike most cancers, the diagnosis of endometrial (uterine) cancer occurs early due to the presentation of symptoms. Thus, the treatment and prognosis of endometrial carcinoma are favorable. Endometrial adenocarcinomas constitute about 80% of all endometrial cancers in the endometrial glands.

How Common is Endometrial Cancer?

Endometrial cancer is one of the most common cancers in women, and the number of cases is increasing. The data from the World Health Organization in 2020 reported endometrial cancer as the 6th most common cancer in women, ranking endometrial carcinoma at 15th among overall cancers.

There is also an increased incidence of this cancer type in India. This rise in endometrial carcinoma in India is attributed to changing trends in the reproductive profile and lifestyle of women in India, particularly in urban areas.

What are Different Endometrial Cancer Types?

Based on the type of cell type from which it originates, endometrial carcinoma is classified into various types. The following are the different types of endometrial cancer are:

Common Types of Endometrial Cancer

The most common types of endometrial cancer are:

Rare Types of Endometrial Cancer

The following are the less common endometrial cancer types:

What are the Endometrial Cancer Stages?

Endometrial cancer staging is a significant step in endometrial cancer management. Staging helps the specialist in assessing the extent of the disease’s spread. Determining the stage of endometrial carcinoma plays a pivotal role in devising a customized treatment plan and effectively managing the disease.


Endometrial cancer initiates in the endometrium and is one of the most common cancers of the female reproductive system. The incidence of this cancer is rising in India. Some common types of endometrial carcinoma are endometrioid adenocarcinoma, small cell carcinoma, squamous cell carcinoma, uterine carcinosarcoma, serous carcinoma, and transitional carcinoma. Stage 1 refers to the early-stage, and stage 4 is the late-stage endometrial cancer.

Frequently Asked Questions

The endometrium is the inner uterine lining, and it comprises several types of cells, such as glandular cells and mesenchymal cells. Uncontrolled growth and division of any type of endometrial cell results in the development of endometrial carcinoma.

Stage 4 endometrial cancer is an advanced stage of cancer. An aggressive treatment regimen is required to manage stage 4 endometrial carcinoma, and the prognosis is also poor.

The 5-year survival rate for uterine serous cancer is 55%.

Endometrial carcinoma most commonly occurs in post-menopausal women.

Aggressive endometrial carcinoma grows and spreads rapidly and has a higher mortality rate. Uterine serous cancer and uterine carcinosarcoma are identified as aggressive endometrial cancer types.