Ewing Sarcoma - Stages and Types of Ewing Sarcoma

Ewing sarcoma is a rare condition characterized by cancer cells in the bone, with or without affecting the surrounding soft tissues. The condition is highly aggressive and requires prompt diagnosis and management.

What Is Ewing Sarcoma?

It is a cancer of the bone and may or may not involve the surrounding soft tissues, such as nerves or cartilage. The common sites for this condition are the feet, arms, legs, pelvis, chest, hands, skull, and spine. Although Ewing sarcoma may occur at any age, it is relatively more common in children and adolescents. Ewing tumors should be diagnosed and treated early for better health outcomes.

Is Ewing Sarcoma Common?

Ewing sarcoma is a rare condition. It is the second most common cancer of the bone in children and adolescents. A study reported its prevalence as 2.9 cases per million in individuals between the ages of one and 19 years. Almost 80% of cases of Ewing tumor are reported in individuals below 18 years of age. The cases of Ewing tumors in adults over 40 years old are < 1%. There is a higher incidence of Ewing tumor in Caucasians than in Africans and Asians. In India, Ewing sarcoma accounts for almost 15% of all bone cancers. Males and females between the ages of 10 and 14 have incidence rates of 4.4 and 2.9 per million, respectively.

What are the Types of Ewing Sarcoma?

Some of the types of Ewing sarcoma are:

What are the Ewing Sarcoma Stages?

Depending on the extent of the disease's spread, the following are the Ewing sarcoma stages:

TNM Stages

The American Joint Committee classifies Ewing sarcoma based on two classification systems. One classification is for bone cancer (Ewing sarcoma of the bone), and the other is for soft tissue sarcoma (EOE). The staging of Ewing tumors is done according to the TNMG system. It is based on tumor size and location, lymph node invasion, metastatic status, and tumor grade.


Ewing sarcoma is a rare cancer that begins in the bone and the soft tissues around the bones. The types of Ewing sarcoma include Ewing sarcoma of the bone, soft tissue (extraosseous Ewing) tumor, peripheral primitive neuroectodermal tumor, and Askin's tumor. The stages of Ewing tumors are defined based on both the bone cancer staging system and the soft tissue sarcoma system.

Frequently Asked Questions

The success rates of Ewing sarcoma treatment depend on various factors, such as stage of diagnosis, response to treatment, other medical conditions, and patient age.

Ewing sarcoma is also known as Ewing tumor, Ewing sarcoma cancer, or Ewing sarcoma tumor. The types of Ewing sarcoma include Ewing sarcoma of the bone, soft tissue (extraosseous Ewing) tumor, peripheral primitive neuroectodermal tumor, and Askin's tumor.

Patients with Ewing tumors are presented with pain that usually gets worse at night or during exercise.

There is a significant variation in the growth of Ewing tumors based on individual characteristics and the type of Ewing tumor. However, it may have the potential to grow to a noticeable size in a few weeks or months.

The common sites for developing Ewing tumors are the feet, legs, arms, hands, chest, pelvis, skull, and spine.