Hodgkins Lymphoma - Stages and Types of Hodgkins Lymphoma

Hodgkin's lymphoma, also known as Hodgkin lymphoma or Hodgkin cancer, occurs when lymphocytes, a type of white blood cells, divide uncontrollably and form a mass. The commonly observed symptoms of this condition include enlarged lymph nodes, night sweats, persistent fatigue, and fever. Due to the availability of advanced diagnostic and treatment techniques in recent decades, the survival rates of Hodgkin’s cancer have improved, and the prognoses have been far more promising.

What Is Hodgkin's Lymphoma?

The lymphatic system is an integral part of our immune system and comprises T lymphocytes, B-lymphocytes, and natural killer cells. They play a pivotal role in destroying germs and infections. When the B lymphocytes or T lymphocytes divide uncontrollably and form a mass, it is referred to as lymphoma.

As for Hodgkin lymphoma meaning, it is a condition where the B-cells, a type of WBC, undergo uncontrolled division due to DNA mutations and form a mass. Lymphoid tissues are present in various body areas, including lymph vessels, lymph nodes, bone marrow, thymus, spleen, adenoids, and tonsils. Hodgkin disease most commonly occurs in the lymphoid tissues of upper body parts, such as the neck, chest, or under the arms.

How common is Hodgkin's Lymphoma?

Although Hodgkin's lymphoma is a rare disease, it is one of the most common cancers found in individuals between 15 and 19 years of age. Globally, Hodgkin's lymphoma comprises 0.4% of all cancer cases and 0.2% of all cancer-related deaths. The incidence rate of Hodgkin’s lymphoma is 0.98 per 100,000, and mortality is 0.26 per 100,000. Being a male, a history of Epstein-Barr virus infection, HIV infection, exposure to pollution, family history, cigarette smoking, and autoimmune diseases are risk factors for Hodgkin’s lymphoma. In recent times, there has been an increasing incidence of Hodgkin's lymphoma in females, in Asian countries, and in the younger population.

What is the Difference between Hodgkin's Lymphoma and Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma?

There are several differences between Hodgkin’s lymphoma and non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma, and the predominant ones include the following:

Different Types of Hodgkin Lymphoma

Following are the different types of Hodgkin lymphoma:

What are the other Categories of Hodgkin Lymphoma?

Apart from classical Hodgkin’s lymphoma, the other types of Hodgkin’s lymphoma include:

What are the Different Hodgkin’s Lymphoma Stages?

Following are the different Hodgkin’s lymphoma stages:


Hodgkin lymphoma is a tumor growing in the lymphatic system. It usually occurs in the upper part of the body. There are various subtypes of Hodgkin lymphoma, such as classical Hodgkin lymphoma, nodular lymphocyte predominant Hodgkin lymphoma, diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, and diffuse large T-cell lymphoma. The stage of Hodgkin lymphoma ranges from stage 1 to stage 4.

Frequently Asked Questions

Survival after Hodgkin’s lymphoma depends upon several factors, such as stage of diagnosis, age, and response to treatment. Overall, the prognosis is favorable for Hodgkin’s lymphoma.

Hodgkin’s lymphoma is curable in its early stages, and the chances of favorable outcomes reduce as the stage of diagnosis increases (more advanced).

Some types of Hodgkin’s lymphoma are slow-growing, such as classical Hodgkin’s lymphoma. However, other types, such as diffuse large B cell and diffuse T cell lymphoma, are aggressive.

Hodgkin’s lymphoma is not contagious; it does not spread from one person to another.

Stage 4 is considered the terminal stage of lymphoma, as at this stage, multiple organs such as the lungs, liver, and bone marrow are affected.

Hodgkin lymphoma is not a type of leukemia. Hodgkin lymphoma usually occurs in the lymphatic system, while leukemia occurs in the bone marrow.

Not necessarily. Hodgkin lymphoma can be diagnosed in stages 1, 2, and 3 too. However, if it is left undiagnosed and untreated, it has the potential to advance to stage 4.